On October 11, 2018, the Middle District Court of Florida held that employment discrimination based on having or not having an abortion might lead to a recognizable claim of sex discrimination under Title VII. While the law is certainly not settled on this issue, we can see a certain trend emerging. In DeJesus v. Florida […]
You are browsing archives for
Month: November 2018
On November 8, 2018, the Department of Labor (DOL) retracted its “80/20 rule,” which prevented employers from taking the tip credit when tipped employees spent more than 20 percent of their working time on non-tipped work. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) allows employers to pay their tipped employees not less than $2.13 per hour […]
It’s that time of year again. Florida’s minimum wage will increase from $8.25 to $8.46 per hour on January 1, 2019. For tipped employees, the maximum tip credit will remain $3.02 per hour, while the minimum cash wage for tipped employees will increase from $5.23 to $5.44 per hour.